Une partie indivisible de sa scénographie aquatique

The title is taken from Mantra, a novel by the Argentinian writer Rodrigo Fresán. Mantra is a meta-fiction that attempts to encompass Mexico City. It revolves around stories of swimming pools, experiences in a non-existent Fourth Dimension, films that do exist, Aztec legends, and Maria-Marie. Maria-Marie has a theory: one day all girls will jump into all swimming pools at exactly the same moment, and the world as we know it will end’.

The sculpture, conceived as an apparatus, modulates the body. The body is one of several elements, each issued from a different context, which come together in a relationship of balance and proportion. The action unfolds into a loop. It produces impatience in a space that has begun to feel haunted. La nageuse, the swimmer, wanders without becoming and asks for contemplation. She begins her routine, charms us, and we follow her. She abandons herself to her short adventures with the sculptures and tames them. She is caught in an arrangement of mysterious actions, a mystical routine performed for someone we do not know. 

A swimmer in a red swimsuit crosses the space, slows, she goes about her business, alone, every so often she smiles or looks around – and the character exits the fiction. She approaches and discovers the patterns. Her foot touches the tip of the pebbles and explores them. The gesture brings her to a memory that is not her own – she has no memories, she also is a state of being. 

Resin covers the pieces of marble. Closer still. The marble devours the resin. The blue absorbs. Blue – unctuous, almost creamy. It is called Buenos Aires and Buenos Aires is the capital of Argentina. Maria-Marie was born in Argentina.

Maria-Marie shifts her weight onto one hip. Maria-Marie moves across the space. Maria-Marie has a theory, the Quantum Theory, a matter of the multidimensional terrorism of swimming pools which she explains using Bach’s Goldberg Variations. The variations open into the aria in a series of subtle possibilities, some very similar, others radically different – different versions of a same story that do not distort the frame. 

I love water with an uncontrolled passion.

The modernist architects wanted to put the swimming pool at the center of everyday life. In his Bailey House, the American architect Pierre Koenig builds a partition from the master bedroom to the entryway and it becomes the wall of the swimming pool. Fall asleep to the rhythm of water. Water modifies movement, gravity. It’s the possibility of a different reality. We can see the space above, and the space below. Water deforms. We have to dive in in order to see clearly.

Une partie indivisible de sa scénographie aquatique [An indivisible part of acquatic scenography], 2013–2014

Installation composed of six sub-parts or action-sculptures and a performance. The synchronized narrative splits into two levels: the spectacle (that of artistic representation) is above the water, while the camera’s occasional dive lets us discover another level, that of physical effort. The water line represents the surface-limit, or the precise moment of the shift between two states of being. At the beginning of 2013, we began shadowing Lyon’s synchronized swimming team. We produced a catalog of images, gestures, materials, sounds, and stories. The catalog-tool box would serve as the base of this project.

Performance: Laura Giacomini, Amélie Giacomini, Lucie Riothon Pannetrat, Laura Sellies.
Réfectoire des nonnes, Les Subsistances, Lyon, France
Pictures: Laurent Basset and Karolina Krassouli

A body arrives, surreptitiously, a swimmer or a dancer. Her swimsuit is red or midnight blue. She crosses the scene, caresses a spine, moves along a side, calms the chamberlains, organizes the apparent disorder along a new goal that is gripping, inescapable. The sculptures begin to breathe.

— Bastien Gallet, juin 2014Read more

Une partie indivisible de sa scénographie aquatique

Ce titre est issu du roman de l’écrivain Argentin Rodrigo Fresàn, Mantra. Mantra est une écriture du montage qui tente de traiter de la ville de Mexico DF. Il tourne autour d’histoires de piscines, d’épisodes de la Quatrième Dimension qui n’existent pas, de films qui existent, de légendes aztèques et de Maria-Marie. Maria-Marie a une théorie: «le jour où toutes les filles tomberont au même moment dans toutes les piscines, le monde tel que nous le connaissons touchera à sa fin.»

Le corps se module par rapport à la sculpture, pensée comme un agrès. Il fait partie des éléments issus de différents contextes, qui se composent dans un rapport d’équilibre et de proportion. L’action se déploie sous forme de boucle, elle crée l’ennui dans un espace qui a quelque-chose de fantomatique. La nageuse erre sans devenir, appelant à la contemplation. Elle débute sa parade, charme, on la suit. Elle s’adonne à de courtes aventures avec les sculptures, les apprivoise. Elle est prise dans une suite d’actions mystérieuses, parade mystique dont le destinataire reste inconnu.

Une nageuse en maillot rouge traverse l’espace, ralentit, elle vaque à ses occupations, isolée, elle adresse de temps à autre un sourire, un regard – et le personnage sort de la fiction. Elle s’approche, découvre les reliefs. Son pied s’appuie sur la pointe des cailloux, les explore. Le geste la ramène à un souvenir qu’elle ne possède pas – elle ne possède aucun souvenir, elle aussi est un état.

La résine recouvre les morceaux de marbres. Plus près. Le marbre dévore la résine. Le bleu absorbe. Un bleu onctueux presque crémeux. Il s’appelle Buenos Aires et Buenos Aires c’est la capitale argentine. Maria-Marie est née en Argentine.

Maria-Marie se déhanche. Maria-Marie traverse. Maria-Marie a une théorie, la Quantum Theory, une affaire de terrorisme multidimensionnel des piscines qu’elle explique en utilisant les Variations Goldberg de Bach. Les variations se déploient dans l’aria en de subtiles options, certaines très semblables, d’autres radicalement différentes – différentes versions d’une même histoire qui n’altèreraient pas sa trame.

J’aime l’eau d’une passion désordonée.

Les architectes modernistes voulaient mettre la piscine au centre de la vie quotidienne. Dans sa Bailey House, l’architecte américain Pierre Koenig prolonge la cloison de la chambre parentale au rez-de-chaussée, elle devient le mur de la piscine, s’endormir au rythme de l’eau. L’eau modifie le mouvement, la gravité, et c’est la possibilité d’une autre réalité. Il y a l’espace visible du dessus et celui du dessous. Il faut s’y plonger pour pouvoir observer sans que tout soit déformé.

Une partie indivisible de sa scénographie aquatique, 2013–2014

Installation composée de six ensembles sculpturaux, un dégradé de couleurs activés par une performance.

La natation synchronisée se décompose en deux niveaux: le spectacle (la représentation artistique) est au dessus de l’eau, parfois la caméra plonge et nous laisse découvrir autre chose: l’effort physique. La ligne de l’eau représente cette surface-limite, ce moment précis de basculement entre deux états. Début 2013, nous commençons à suivre l’équipe de natation synchronisée de la ville de Lyon. Nous constituons alors un catalogue d’images, de gestes, de matériaux, de sons et de récits. Catalogue-outil qui sera à la base de cet ensemble installation. 

Performance: Laura Giacomini, Amélie Giacomini, Lucie Riothon Pannetrat, Laura Sellies
Réfectoire des nonnes, Les Subsistances, Lyon, France
Images: Laurent Basset et Karolina Krassouli

Un corps apparaît, traverse la scène, caresse une arête, longe une face, calme les chambellans, anime le désordre apparent d’un but nouveau, saisissant, inéluctable. Les sculptures se mettent à respirer.

— Bastien Gallet, juin 2014Lire le texte