Fond et sa sculpture dissimulée

Salton Sea is located one hundred and fifty miles outside of Los Angeles, in the Colorado Desert. A faded wooden sign reads Salton Sea Marina Beach. The street leads us to a stretch of water. Infinite. As we approach the color transforms, the water looks viscous, it takes on the appearance of an oil slick. The thick sand is very white. The landscape decomposes. Sand. Thousands of crushed fish carcasses. Sand. They are imprisoned in a layer of salt, fossilized. There was a disaster here. Everything was swallowed, a salt-lunar landscape. The trees are on the ground and the houses are empty. 

We see transparent fragments, purpled, and stains. A ship cleans out its oil tanks. Three planes intersect against the white of the plaster. A perfect curve and she imitates it, she searches for her place, crosses, rotates around the elements. The slowness of a dream, extreme vigilance, she pauses in order to complete a gesture. The white plays with the light’s reflection. The white is the sand. Later, the white takes the same pink tint as the walls.

She returns to her movement and slowly, almost imperceptibly, she recognizes what belongs to her, arches, spreads her legs and disappears behind the background. She is superposed – lascivious camouflage – they look at her, they look only at her. The spectators. The final motif completes the theme’s spiral. Redundant heroine without whom the background cannot function, she reactivates the desolate landscape and renders the story’s projection possible.

Fond et sa sculpture dissimulée [Background with its concealed sculpture], 2014

Installation composed of one sculpture, a gradation of color and a performance.

Performance: Anna Gaïotti
Curated: Georgia René-Worms, Cité scolaire François Villon, Paris, France
Pictures: Paul Nicoué

Fond et sa sculpture dissimulée

Salton Sea est située à environs cent-soixante miles de Los Angeles, dans le désert du Colorado. Un panneau de bois à la couleur délavée nous indique Salton Sea Marina Beach. La rue nous mène à une étendue d’eau. Infinie. Plus près la couleur se transforme, l’eau est huileuse, prend des reflets d’essence. Le sable épais est très blanc. Le paysage se décompose. Le sable. Des milliers de cadavres de poissons pulvérisés. Le sable. Ils sont emprisonnés dans une couche de sel, fossilisés. Une catastrophe s’est produit. Tout a été englouti, paysage lunaire salin. Les arbres sont au sol, les maisons vides de leurs occupants.

On voit des fragments transparents, violacés, des taches aussi. Un bateau qui dégaze. Trois morceaux se découpent sur le blanc du plâtre. Courbe parfaite, elle l’imite, elle cherche sa place, traverse, tourne autour des éléments. Lenteur de rêve, vigilance extrême, elle s’arrête pour accomplir un geste. Le blanc joue la réflexion de la lumière. Le blanc c’est le sable. Plus tard le blanc se teinte du même rose que celui qui couvre les murs.

Elle reprend sa parade, lente, presque imperceptible, elle reconnait les éléments qui lui appartiennent, se cambre, ses jambes s’écartent, disparaissent derrière le fond. Elle se superpose – camouflage lascif – ils la regardent, ils ne regardent qu’elle. Les spectateurs. Dernier motif venant compléter la spirale du thème. Héroïne redondante sans laquelle le fond ne se déploierait pas, elle réactive le paysage désolé et rend la projection du récit possible.

Fond et sa sculpture dissimulée, 2014

Installation composée de deux éléments sculpturaux, un dégradé de couleur et une performance.

Performance: Anna Gaïotti
Commissariat: Georgia René-Worms, Cité scolaire François Villon, Paris, France
Images: Paul Nicoué